Maybe feeling like an adult?

My husband and I have had this discussion for a long time.  When will I feel like a grown-up?  I even asked my dad this a few years ago and his response: “I’ll let you know when it happens.”   I was horrified a few years ago chaperoning a youth group trip because I felt like a dumb 16 year old.

I turned down a full time job offer to go work for my old boss part time.  To me, the miss perfectionist, type-A, good girl that I am it seemed so counter intuitive to turn down a full time job.  As soon as I decided I felt peace.  It is 20 hours a week.  I will have time to pick the boy up from school and take him to the park and work on homework with him.  I will be able to set my scheduleI and I am planning to work 2.5-3 days a week .  It will be another transition for our family to adjust to, but I am excited.

So what makes me feel like an adult?  Choosing to be happy and deciding balance is worth more than money.

Leave a Reply

