Week in My Life: Friday

Team Whitaker WIML_friday

Last nights accidental nap when I put X to bed made getting up this morning so much easier. I can not live on 6 hours of sleep a night, I need more. That is something I hate to admit. I hate to admit it, because it means I need to go to bed MUCH earlier than I do.   That would mean making hard decisions about what I do with my time….dishes or pinterest? I don’t like making decisions.

I head into work. This wasn’t planned, but I know that I am much more productive in the lab where I don’t have the distractions of laundry, TV or 101 organizing projects I would like to tackle. As the reigning queen of procrastination I would get a lot done around the house that I have been putting off and the expense of the work I am being paid to do.

Going into work no longer fills me with dread like it did when I worked full time. Especially today since it is Friday and I knowing I only have to be at work for 3 hours because I have plans I am looking forward to at noon.

I signed up for an hour of Eucharistic Adoration when I become unemployed and I look forward to it every week. We have the benefit of a 24 hour perpetual adoration chapel at the Cathedral in town as well. It is a beautiful space and I would try to get there as frequently as possible.  However,  sitting in our parish and praying is different and has been a great comfort. Not only am I there with Jesus really present in the Eucharist, but I am surrounded by all of the memories of our time there.   B joining the church at Easter and the excitement being so palpable. Midnight Masses. The joy of a friends wedding. The sorrow of my friends funeral last month. In that place I have battled my own pride and will to find faith.   I have beamed with pride at our youth group and been reduced to tears over pregnancy announcements of others while I have been waiting for 4.5 years.

B picks me up at work and I drop him off at the gym. I head to church a little later than I would like. Today there was nothing profound about being there today, just quiet and peace as I prayed.

After leaving the church I head home for about and hour and a half since my MIL asked to pick up the boy again. I feel like such a slacker.

I pick up B from work and we go to look at couches.     The evening is nice we make dinner and then procede to get into a not great argument because of couches.

It was totally my fault.   It was one of those moments I could see myself acting crazy and couldn’t stop. Not my best moment.

We get X to bed once he stops bouncing off the walls.   B forgives me for being a nut and we make plans for Saturday. Plans that include going to Ikea to look for a new couch because of this:

Broken couch

Broken couch

That is our sad broken couch the leg finally snapped off.  It is really comfortable still.  Though I doubt guests want to crawl on the floor to sit on.  We have been talking about getting something larger the whole family can sit/ lounge on.  So hopefully we find something we love.

Leave a Reply

